Saturday, March 21, 2009

Crazy Goal: Delayed Penalty = Horror Show for Canucks

Anyone else see this yet? I had my TV on mute and missed the 4th goal while doing something else. So I was looking online to see who scored and thought the boxscore was screwed up - anyone that frequently checks out Yahoo boxscores knows exactly what I'm talking about. I saw that the boxscore looked weird, Viktor Tikhonov of Pheonix was credited with an empty net goal in the 2nd period and also got a hooking penalty at the exact same time.

Then I caught a partial replay of it so I rewinded it via DVR to see a crazy goal being scored.

During a delayed penalty Luongo went to the bench for the extra skater. Viktor Tikhonov was about to get a penalty but he was forechecking and hacked at a pass to Shane O'Brien, it deflected all the way back into the empty net. The CBC commentator said he was the first NHL player to get a goal and a penalty on the same play. Crazy sequence of events! Check it out for yourself below...

5 comments:

Anonymous said...

I thought they were supposed to blow the whistle when the opposite team touches the puck, you can clearly see that phoenix player touches the puck on the pass attempt causing it to go into the net, Man the Ref sure blew that call

Anonymous said...

The whistle is blown on a delayed penalty when the penalized team gains CONTROL of the puck, not just touches it. He never had control of it.

Anonymous said...

Usually most refs blow it dead with the touch, not too often will they wait till full control. But in this case, they decided to say he didnt have the control, therefore it's a goal.

Puck Central said...

They will almost always wait for a player to have FULL control of a puck before they blow the play dead. Phoenix never got control of the puck, Tikhonov just happened to deflect a pass from Sedin to O'Brien. The same exact play happens every game during a delayed penalty and there's no whistle to stop the play, it just happens that this particular incident led to a goal being scored.

CanesFan said...

NHL Rulebook:
78.4
(xi) During the delayed calling of a penalty, the offending team cannot score unless the non-offending team shoots the puck into their own net. This shall mean that a deflection off an offending player or goalkeeper, or any physical action by an offending player that may cause the puck to enter the non-offending team’s goal, shall not be considered a legal goal. Play shall be stopped before the puck enters the net (whenever possible) and the signaled penalty assessed to the offending team.