Friday, April 24, 2009

NHL Names Norris Finalists

The NHL yesterday named its three finalists for the Norris Trophy. Zdeno Chara of the Boston Bruins, Mike Green of the Washington Capitals and Nicklas Lidstrom of the Detroit Red Wings are the finalists for the Norris Trophy, the awarded given for the NHL’s best defenseman during the regular season.

Lidstrom has won the trophy six of the last seven seasons, the only year in that time period that he didn't win was in 2003-04 when Scott Niedermayer won it. Neither Chara or Green have won the award before.

I would be shocked if Lidstrom won this season because I think that although he had a good season, that Chara and Green were phenominal. Green, known more as an offensive defenseman finished the season with 31 goals (despite playing in only 68 games). He also set an NHL record when he scored in eight consecutive games, setting the NHL record for most consecutive games with a goal by a defenceman. The former record was set by Mike O'Connell in the 1983–84 NHL season. Chara on the other hand is an all-around player, he has the size (6-9) and both the skills offensively to kill you (hardest slap shot in the NHL) and defefensively to shut you down. He is the Captain of the Boston Bruins who had a great season.

In my opinion either Green or Chara will get the Norris Trophy, as they both had great seasons.


The Manic Ranger said...

I think it should goto Green. I normally don't think that points should be the deciding factor for the Norris, but when a defenseman scores 72 points in 68 games it's deserving of the Norris.

Puck Central said...

Hard to disagree with that. I personally like both Green & Chara. Chara is in my opinion the best defenseman in the NHL because not only can he hurt you with his shot from the point, he can hurt you physically. + the guy isn't afraid to thrown down the gloves with anybody. Hopefully the Rangers can keep Green quite again tomorrow!